Awards and Honors 2004


Faculty Promotions

Promotion to Professor:
Judy Hoyt
David Karger

Associate with Tenure:
Saman Amarasinghe
William Freeman
Tommi Jaakkola
Daniela Rus

Professor with Tenure:
Ronitt Rubinfeld

Associate without Tenure:
Vladimir Buloviç
David Perreault
Piotr Indyk

Chair Appointments

Carl Richard Soderberg Professor of Power Engineering: Michael Perrott
ITT Development Chair: Robert Morris
Jamieson Career Development Chair: Jovan Popovic
Emanuel E. Landsman (1958) Career Development Professor of Electrical Engineering
and Computer Science: David Perreault
Cecil H. Green Professor of Computer Science: Madhu Sudan
Fariborz Maseeh (1990) Professor of Emerging Technology: Rafael Reif

Awards and Prizes

American Physical Society membership: Jeffrey Shapiro
2003 Bacus Prize of the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE): Henry Smith
IEEE Founders Medal: Mildred Dresselhaus
IEEE John von Neumann Medal: Barbara Liskov
IEEE Donald G. Fink Paper Award: Alan Wilsky
2004 IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award: Kenneth Stevens
2004 IEEE Fellows: Anantha Chandrakasan, Eric Grimson, Martin Schmidt, Greg Wornell
2004 Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award (co-winner): Muriel Médard
Junior Bose Award: David Perreault
National Academy of Science, membership: Shafi Goldwasser, Ron Rivest
Semiconductor Industry Association University Research Award: Dimitri A. Anoniadis
Ruth and Joel Spira Award: Erik Demaine
Jerome H. Saltzer (1961) Fund Prize: Gerald L. Wilson
Departmental Special Award: Duane Boning, Srinivas Devadas, and Frans Kaashoek — for their contributions to graduate student admissions, recruitment
and programs.


Undergraduate Students

Northern Telecom/BNR Project Award—for the best 6.111 laboratory project: Spring Term 2003: Adam Champy ‘04, Kevin Emery (G); Sameera Ponda ‘04
Fall Term 2003: Philip Guo ‘05, Ji Zhang ‘05.

George C. Newton Undergraduate Laboratory Prize—for best undergraduate laboratory project: Glenn Tournier ‘04, James Warren ‘04, Eric Syu (G)

David A. Chanen Writing Award: Waseem Bakr ‘05

Robert M. Fano UROP Award—for best electrical engineering UROP project: Rob Speer ‘06

Graduate Students

Carlton E. Tucker Award: Matthew Notowidigo

Harold E. Hazen Award—for teaching excellence: Petro Boufounos

Frederick C. Hennie III Award—for teaching excellence: Nathan Srebro, Edwin Olson

George M. Sprowls Scholarship Award—for best computer science PhD thesis: Dina Katabi, ‘03; Manolis Kamvysselis, ‘03; Alex Snoeren, ‘03 (honorable mention)

Morris Joseph Levin Award—for the best MasterWorks oral thesis presentation:
Jung-Won Kim, Ali Shoeb, Watcharapan Suwansantisuk, Ashish Khisti, Vijay Divi, Frank O’Sullivan

David Adler Memorial Thesis Prize—for the best electrical engineering master’s thesis:
1st prize: Jonathan Sheffi;
2nd prize: Chen-Wen Huang;
3rd prize: Jennifer Yu

Ernst A. Guillemin Award—for best electrical engineering master’s thesis:
1st place: Ethan Crain; 2nd place: Adam Granich-Unikowsky;
3rd place: Sourav Raj Dey

Charles and Jennifer Johnson Thesis Prize—for best computer science master’s thesis:
Paul Youn, Ali Shoeb

William A. Martin Memorial Thesis Prize—for best computer science master’s thesis:
Andrew Hogue

Department Special Recognitions Awards:
Nathan Ickes, Rodrigo Rodrigues—for their contributions to departmental education awards and honors 2004

Leave a Reply

Replies which add to the content of this article in the EECS Newsletter are welcome. The Department reserves the right to moderate all comments. If you would like to provide any updated information please send an email to