EECS Leadership

Dean of the School of Engineering Thomas Magnanti announced on July 8 the appointment of L. Rafael Reif as the new Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, effective September 1, 2004.

New EECS Department Leadership Team, from left, Associate Department Head Duane S. Boning, Department Head Rafael Reif and Associate Department Head Eric Grimson, August 2004.

New EECS Department Leadership Team, from left, Associate Department Head Duane S. Boning, Department Head Rafael Reif and Associate Department Head Eric Grimson, August 2004.

Rafael received the degree of Ingeniero Electrico in 1973 from the Universidad de Carabobo, Valencia, Venezuela, and the MS and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 1975 and 1979, respectively. In his teaching and research, he has focused on microelectronics, with a recent emphasis on future microelectronics interconnect technologies, and on environmentally benign microelectronics fabrication.

Rafael is an internationally noted researcher and educator. He is a Fellow of IEEE and has received the Semiconductor Research Corporation’s 2000 Aristotle Award, which acknowledges outstanding teaching and student mentorship in its broadest sense. He has served for the past five years as the Associate Department Head. In that capacity, he has shared broad administrative responsibility for all departmental matters with the Department Head, John Guttag, and the other Associate Department Heads, first Tomás Lozano-Peréz and later Barbara Liskov.

Dean Magnanti acknowledged the search committee (Professors Anantha Chandrakasan, Judy Hoyt, Erich Ippen, Patrick Jaillet, Frans Kaashoek, Leslie Kaelbling, Tomás Lozano-Peréz (Committee Chair), Nancy Lynch, Martin Rinard, John Tsitsiklis, and George Verghese) for its thoughtful deliberations and valuable advice concerning the department head appointment. He also recognized John Guttag for his extraordinary leadership for over ten years as Associate Head and as Department Head, noting the addition of 42 new faculty (including ten women) and promoting almost 60 faculty during his six years as Department Head and his effective leadership in the development and launching of the Stata Center.

In late July, Rafael Reif and Dean Magnanti announced the appointments of Professors Eric Grimson and Duane Boning as Associate Department Heads, recognizing them for their strong credentials in teaching and research, and a deep commitment to education, the department, and MIT.

Eric received a BSc (High Honors) in Mathematics and Physics from the University of Regina and a PhD in mathematics from MIT in 1980. He holds the Bernard Gordon Chair of Medical Engineering at MIT. He also holds a joint appointment as a Lecturer on Radiology at Harvard Medical School and at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. Eric was Associate Director of the MIT Artificial Intelligence Laboratory from 1998 to 2003. He has served as the EECS Education Officer from Sept, 2001 through August, 2004. He also heads the Computer Vision Group of MIT’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, which has pioneered state-of-the-art systems for activity and behavior recognition, object and person recognition, image database indexing, image guided surgery, computational anatomy, site modeling and many other areas of computer vision. Eric received the Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching in the School of Engineering at MIT in 2001. He is a Fellow of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence, and a Fellow of the IEEE.

Duane Boning holds SB degrees in both Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, and earned his PhD degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science in 1991, all from MIT. His research focuses on interconnect technology; variation modeling, control, and environmental issues in semiconductor and MEMS manufacturing; and CAD tools for statistical process, device, and circuit design. From 1991 to 1993 he was a member of the Technical Staff at Texas Instruments in Dallas. Duane has been Associate Director of the MIT Microsystems Technology Laboratories since 1998. He is also serving as the Co-Director for Undergraduate Education in the Cambridge-MIT Institute. Duane has participated in the MIT Leaders for Manufacturing Program, as well as the manufacturing program of the Singapore-MIT Alliance. He is Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing.

Finally, the department extends its appreciation to Professor Barbara Liskov, who steps down as Associate Department Head on August 31, 2004. In Tom Magnanti’s words, the Department has benefited tremendously from her leadership and wisdom and looks forward to the continuing benefit from her as well as John Guttag’s (and Tomás Lozano-Peréz’s) experience and expertise as a distinguished members of the EECS faculty.

Leave a Reply

Replies which add to the content of this article in the EECS Newsletter are welcome. The Department reserves the right to moderate all comments. If you would like to provide any updated information please send an email to